Michael Flavell

Michael Flavell Website PhotoMichael Flavell is an Associate at Grey, Clark, Shih and Associates, Limited.

One of Canada’s most distinguished lawyers, Michael Flavell provides strategic counsel to select clients in the fields of International Trade, Competition and Aboriginal Law.

Formerly Counsel to McMillan LLP, he was Chair of their International Trade Group, having previously co-founded and managed an internationally recognized administrative law boutique, Flavell Kubrick LLP. Before that, he led the Ottawa office of McCarthy Tetrault LLP, of which he was a senior Partner.

Well versed in negotiating Government regulation and policies, Michael is recognized as one of Canada’s most prominent Trade Lawyers, and has an extensive record of appearances (for both foreign and domestic parties) in anti-dumping, subsidy, safeguard inquiries and reviews before the Canadian International Trade Tribunal, as well as making representations to the CBSA.

He has represented clients in trade matters before the Federal Court of Canada and in the Supreme Court of Canada, including a successful appearance in the landmark administrative law decision, National Corn Growers v. Canada (1990). Michael has successfully argued before NAFTA and FTA Panels, and provides sound business advice on related issues and on WTO disputes.

A veteran practitioner of Competition Law, Michael interfaces at senior levels with the Competition Bureau and has represented clients before regulating Tribunals and Courts. He provides counsel on all aspects of Canada’s antitrust law, and has written two books in the field.

He has been recognized by numerous national and international directories as a leader in both international trade law and competition law, a unique distinction.

In the field of aboriginal law, Michael counselled the Inuvialuit (Inuit) of the Western Arctic in negotiating with the Government of Canada and other stakeholders a precedent-setting Land Claims Settlement in 1984.

He was appointed Queen’s Counsel (Federal) in 1992 and was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012.